10. Surya Namaskaras

The SUN is the source of light and energy. So people of all the religions throughout the world, praise and worship the sun. Sunrays have immense power in them. There is no life on the earth without solar energy. So came into practice the Surya namaskar method, to respect the sun.

Oxygen is more in the air at the time of sunrise and at the sunset. A lot of advantages are there if Surya namaskar asanas are practiced at the sun rise and sun set, standing in front of the sun. These asanas are called ‘Body positions’ in Yoga education. The mantras with different names of Sun, are also prescribed. Chanting each mantra, generally 12 body positions are postured that means 12 asanas are practiced to form one set of Surya-namaskar. The recitation of mantra generates powerful vibrations in the mind and body. If Surya namaskaras are postured along with the recitation of mantras, the solar inspiration is generated in the body. While practicing these asanas, mind should be concentrated on the respective parts of the body to get more benefits.

Everyone can practice Surya namaskarasanas. They are the boon for the students. They should be started with the first three asanas and gradually increase one after the other to finally implement 12 body positions in the 12 asanas.


People with heart trouble, high blood pressure, spondylitis, back pain and weakness should practice these asanas, only after they are relieved of their problems.This also should be avoided by women during pregnancy and menstrul periods.

Mantras of Surya namaskar:

There are 1008 different Divine Mantras of Surya namaskaras. Among them fifteen are more popular:
1. Om Suryay namaha Salute to the life generator
2. Om Adityay namaha Salute to first savior – Son of cosmic mother
3. Om Anshuley namaha Salute to ray generator
4. Om Arkay namaha Salute to eradicator of evil
5. Om Hiranyagarbhay namaha Salute to golden sparkling self
6. Om Bhaskaray namaha Salute to promoter of divine knowledge
7. Om Prabhakaray namaha Salute to the light generator
8. Om Dinakaray namaha Salute to day maker
9. Om Bhanavey namaha Salute to the great flame
10.Om Pushney namaha Salute to energizer / promoter
11.Om Khagay namaha Salute to the sky dwellor
12.Om Mitray namaha Salute to the friend of all
13.Om Marichey namaha Salute to the shining rays
14.Om Savitrey namaha Salute to the stimulator of the universal energy
15.15. Om Ravaye namaha Salute to the giver of divine shine and happiness

After reciting one mantra Surya namaskar is started. One Surya namaskar means a set of 12 asanas.

I. The first state – Namaskarasan /Hastasan :

A-B) Standing straight, both the hands are joined into namaskar position. By chanting one mantra, breathing out Surya namaskar is started. Smoothly both hands are streched in front, thumbs touching each other.

Chanting of the mantra and then on arms

II. The second state – Ardha chandrasan or Hasta-utthanasan:

From the first state, both the hands are stretched upwards and bent back, raising the head, thumbs touching each other, breathing in. Knees are not bent. Balance of the body is to be maintained when the body is bent back. If balance is lost there is every possibility of falling down on the back.


III. The third state – Pad-hastasan:

From the second state, bending forward both the feet are touched with both the hands breathing out. It is tried to touch the knees with the forehead.

Knees and calves

IV. The fourth state – Ashwa sanchalanasan or Anjaneyasan:

From the third state, palms are placed on the floor, left leg is completely taken back and toes placed on the floor. Breathing in, both the hands are raised up. Right leg is on the floor on its original position. Initially the left knee may rest on the floor, later it should not.

Center of the eyebrows

V. The fifth state – Parvatasan:

From the fourth state, both the hands are brought down and palms placed on the floor. Right leg is also taken back and placed near the left one, waist and buttocks fully lifted up. Either one or both the heels are moved forward and backward. Breath is inhaled and exhaled regularly.


VI. The sixth state – Sashtang or Ashtang namaskarasan:

A-B) From the fifth state, both the knees and chin are placed on the floor (as in Shashankasan) and then stretching further the chest is also placed on the floor, breathing out, waist and stomach are raised from the floor a little.


VII. The seventh state – Sarpasan or Bhujangasan:

From the sixth state, pressing the floor with the palms, head and chest are raised up, breathing in. The total weight of the body is rested on the toes and the palms.

Throat / Neck

VIII.The eighth state – Bhukampasan:

From the seventh state, the body from the middle is raised up, breathing out. The buttocks, waist and the heels are moved left and right.


IX. The ninth state – Ashwa sanchalanasan:

From the eighth state, left leg is brought forward, both the hands are raised up thumbs touching each other. Neck and hands are stretched back, breathing in.

Center of the eye brows

X. The tenth state – Pad-hastasan:

From the ninth state, both the hands are placed on the floor. Right leg is brought near the left leg. Breathing out, toes are touched with fingers and knees with the forehead.

Knees and calves

XI. The eleventh state – Vrukshasan or Tadasan:

From the tenth state, breathing in, both the hands are raised up with both the thumbs touching each other. The entire body is stood erect and straight.

The entire body

XII. The twelfth state – Namaskarasan or Pranamasan:

From the eleventh state, both the hands are moved round and brought in front of the chest. Breathing out, both the hands are joined in the namaskar position and salutation is offered.

Lotus heart i.e. pit at the middle of the chest

Surya namaskar is to be offered everyday, observing the following four steps in order:
The first step: At the beginning only 5 states i.e. Nos. 1, 2, 3, 11 and 12 above are to be practiced.
The second step: Later 7 states i.e. Nos. 1,2,3,5,10,11 and 12 above are to be practiced.
The third step: After second step, 9 states i.e. Nos. 1,2,3,4,5,9,10,11 and 12 above are to be practiced.
The fourth step (Full): After practicing the above three steps, all the above explained 12 states i.e. Nos. 1 to 12 are to be completely practiced, in that sequence.

If the above order is followed, Surya namaskaras can be conveniently practiced everyday with ease and comfort.

According to the strength of one’s body, the above order is followed. Whenever tired or exhausted, full rest should be taken, first in Nispand-bhavasan and then in Shanti asan.

There is a great importance to Surya namaskar from the time immemorial, in the shape of worshipping the Sun God and as a source for physical and psychological empowerment to the body and mind. These asanas are to be practiced preferably at the sunrise. People work till late in the night in this mechanical age and get up late in the morning. Therefore it may be practiced whenever one gets up and get benefited from the wonderful process.

People with enough physical stamina, may even practice 108 Surya namaskaras forming a physical Mantra-mala.


With these systematic movements, all the parts of the body are activated and enthusiased to work with high spirits. Accumulated extra fats in the body are minimized. Cheeks develop smoothness and are beautified. Face becomes charming. Indigestion, constipation and such other problems are solved. The uterus in the women is purified. Excess bleeding and such other gyenic problems are also solved.

People who find little time, may offer atleast a few Surya namaskaras every day and give sufficient exercises to the whole body and mind to improve health and peace of mind.

“Practice Surya namaskar to glow like Sun”